Don’t Quit!

Hello again! It’s been a while. A year to be exact. Where was I during that year? (Feel free to insert any excuse here.) I could rack my brain to come up with a convincing excuse. I could create a whole back-story and reason that would be plausible. But the truth is, it really doesn’t matter.

What does matter? I’m back. I learned. I am applying. In one of my earlier blogs I noted I wasn’t sure where I lost track before and why. Well, the same applies here. Somewhere along the line, somehow, I fell off the wagon. I suppose I decided the trip was a bit too difficult at that point in time. While I could beat myself up for that mistake, I won’t.

Instead I am applauding myself. Why you may ask? Because I am back. I didn’t quit. Quitting has a finality to it. Quit is the end. Well guess what folks? It’s not the end. Not for me. I was sidetracked. I lost my way. I went back to my old habits and ways. But did I quit? No. Why? Because I’m back at it and stronger than ever.

So what changed? I thought I had the mindset last year. I thought I was doing it for the right reasons. I thought I was ready. I wasn’t. Again, it was for a reason other than for me. It was for the play I was in last year and fitting in the costume. Once that goal was passed, I had no reason to keep going. So I didn’t.

This year, I got there. I don’t have a specific reason for doing this. Except that I’m ready. It’s what I want. It’s my journey and I’m ready. We’ve all been there. We’ve all had a moment we wanted to quit. We’ve all been sidelined or sidetracked. When you’re at that dead end and you can only choose right or left (continue or quit) what’s your choice going to be? Mine is to keep going.

I may have lost my way. I may have reverted back to old habits. I may have stopped working out. But, I didn’t quit. It’s not over yet. We will all face challenges, difficulties, moments of weakness. How will you answer that call? I hope with the reminder to yourself – DON’T QUIT!

Leave a Reply

